Trio House Press
publishing distinct voices in poetry
since 2012
Check out the latest titles from Trio House Press!

Congratulations and welcome to Sunshine O' Donnell, winner of the 2022 Louise Bogan Award for States of Arousal
selected by Ed Bok Lee

A Barnes and Noble Discover Great New Writers author (Open Me, Penguin Random House), Sunshine O’Donnell’s novel has been translated into Dutch (Huil Voor Mij) and Hebrew (המקוננות). O’Donnell’s nonfiction work includes a selection in W.W. Norton’s Best Creative Nonfiction anthology, as well as the board book Your Vacation on Planet Earth (Out Breath Press/The Nesting House). Throughout her twenties and thirties, O’Donnell taught creative writing and art to children in residential facilities, in-patient mental health facilities, shelters for the unhoused, and underserved schools, publishing literary magazines created and edited by youth with a special focus on children telling their stories about their experiences in the DHS placement system. A featured sugar artist on The Food Network and Cake Central magazine, O’Donnell has won juried awards for her inedible  art made out of discarded things. Since 2013, O’Donnell has been teaching middle school in Pennsylvania, where she lives with her husband and child.

Congratulations and welcome to Jennifer Manthey, winner of the 2022 Trio Award for 
The Fight, 
selected by Aileen Cassinetto.

Congratulations and welcome to Jessica Hincapie, winner of the 2021 Louise Bogan Award for Bloomer
selected by Lee Ann Roripaugh
Congratulations and welcome to Jessica Hincapie, winner of the 2021 Louise Bogan Award for Bloomer
selected by Lee Ann Roripaugh
Jennifer Manthey is a writer and teacher from Minneapolis, Minnesota. Her poems have appeared in places such as Prairie Schooner, Calyx Journal, Best New Poets, RHINO, Tinderbox Poetry Journal, Palette Poetry, and Crab Orchard Review. She has received support from Bread Loaf Writers Workshops and MVICW, and she earned her MFA from Hamline University. Jen lives with her husband, three children, and one St Bernard.

Congratulations and welcome to Lena Khalaf Tuffaha, finalist for the 2022 Trio Award for 
Kaan and Her Sisters,
selected by Trio House Press Editors.

Lena Khalaf Tuffaha’s first full-length collection, Water & Salt, won the 2018 Washington State Book Award. She is also the author of two chapbooks, Arab in Newsland, winner of the 2016 Two Sylvias Prize, and Letters from the Interior. Her writing has been published in journals including Michigan Quarterly Review, Los Angeles Review of Books, the Nation, and She is the curator and translator of the Poems from Palestine series at the Baffler magazine. Find her at

Congratulations to the 2022 winners, finalists, and semi-finalists!


Louise Bogan Award Winner selected by Ed Bok Lee

States of Arousal by Sunshine O’Donnell



Amid Serpentine Grasses, by Sawnie Morris

All Our Naked Shadows Wear Us Curious Suits, Paula Cisewski

Every Little Iliad, Jean Gallagher

Ghostlit, Theodora Ziolkowski


Semi-finalists (in alphabetical order)

Still Life with Frida, by Laura Amsel

Every Last Thing, by Alyse Knorr

Wolf Tours, by Alyse Knorr

Soudure, by Timothy McBride

The Knife Thrower’s Girl, by Naomi Mulvihill

Steady, Girl, by Leona Sevick

Systole/Diastole, by Constance Studer



Trio Award Winner selected by Aileen Casinnetto

The Fight by Jennifer Manthey



The Glow in Our Spilling, by Ximena Keogh Serrano

The Knife Thower’s Girl, Naomi Mulvihill

Kaan and Her Sisters, by Lena Tuffaha


Semi-finalists (in alphabetical order):

In the Absence of Safe Space, by Eli Estochen

A Flocking of Hands, by Alex Gulis

Sphinxlike, by Chine Lama

Across the Pacific, by Xiaoly Li

Dream of Being, by Kathryne Lim

Tiny Extravaganzas, by Diane Mehta

The Sounding Realm, by Paul Panish

Dutch Landscapes of the American Great Lakes, by Max Schleicher


Ed Bok Lee's most recent collection is Mitochondrial Night (Coffee House Press).Honors for his books include an Asian American Literary Award (Members’ Choice), a PEN/Open Book Award, a Minnesota Book Award, and an American Book Award. Lee attended kindergarten in Seoul, South Korea, and currently teaches in Fine Arts at Metropolitan State University. Forthcoming work: "Pandemic Love," an essay in the anthology, We Are Meant to Rise: Voices for Justice from Minneapolis to the World (University of Minnesota Press, November 2021), and Smiling in an Old Photograph: Poems by Kim Ki-taek (Co-translated by Ed Bok Lee and Yang Eun-Mi) (OHM Editions, December 2021).

TRIO AWARD JUDGE 2022: Aileen Cassinetto 

Aileen Cassinetto is author of Traje de Boda and The Pink House of Purple Yam Preserves & Other Poems, as well as three chapbooks through Moria Books’ acclaimed Locofo series. Her work has appeared or is forthcoming in POETRYMarsh Hawk Press ReviewSan Francisco Chronicle, and Vox Populi, among others. She was named an Academy of American Poets Laureate Fellow in 2021 and currently serves as the Poet Laureate of San Mateo County, California.